User Friendly
Compelling
Insightful
Profound

User Friendly How the Hidden Rules of Design Are Changing the Way We Live, Work, and Play

In User Friendly, Cliff Kuang and Robert Fabricant reveal the untold story of a paradigm that quietly rules our modern lives: the assumption that machines should anticipate what we need. Spanning over a century of sweeping changes, from women’s rights to the Great Depression to World War II to the rise of the digital era, this book unpacks the ways in which the world has been—and continues to be—remade according to the principles of the once-obscure discipline of user-experience design. In this essential text, Kuang and Fabricant map the hidden rules of the designed world and shed light on how those rules have caused our world to change—an underappreciated but essential history that’s pieced together for the first time. Combining the expertise and insight of a leading journalist and a pioneering designer, User Friendly provides a definitive, thoughtful, and practical perspective on a topic that has rapidly gone from arcane to urgent to inescapable. In User Friendly, Kuang and Fabricant tell the whole story for the first time—and you’ll never interact with technology the same way again.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of PG Gonni
PG Gonni@sekei
3.5 stars
Dec 30, 2023
Complex
Intelligent
Pretentious
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
4.5 stars
Apr 1, 2023
Conceptual
Insightful
Photo of Ali Angco
Ali Angco@aliangco
4 stars
Mar 26, 2023
Photo of Suat Karakusoglu
Suat Karakusoglu@suat
4.5 stars
Mar 12, 2023
Intense
Profound
Photo of Fatih Arslan
Fatih Arslan@fatiharslan
4 stars
Jan 22, 2023
Photo of Dave Perkins
Dave Perkins@tallyhoooooo
5 stars
Aug 16, 2022
Photo of Nicat Manafov
Nicat Manafov@nijatmanafov
3 stars
Oct 30, 2021
Long winded
Photo of Raf
Raf@raffaele
5 stars
Oct 15, 2021
Compelling
Surprising
Extraordinary
Photo of Caleb Yarian
Caleb Yarian@caleb
5 stars
Oct 2, 2021
Photo of Lisa Charlotte Rost
Lisa Charlotte Rost@lisa
3 stars
Aug 12, 2021
Photo of Bhanu Pratap
Bhanu Pratap@bhanupratap
5 stars
Oct 23, 2023
Remarkable
Photo of Jesse Bennett-Chamberlain
Jesse Bennett-Chamberlain@jessebc
5 stars
Aug 12, 2023
Easy read
Photo of Joylyn yang
Joylyn yang@joylyn
4 stars
Feb 23, 2023
Photo of Ericson Luciano
Ericson Luciano@ericsonluciano
5 stars
Jan 31, 2023
Photo of Miriam Isaac
Miriam Isaac@miriamisaac
4 stars
Aug 14, 2022
Photo of Aris Acoba
Aris Acoba@aris_acoba
3.5 stars
Apr 1, 2022
Photo of Irem topcuoglu
Irem topcuoglu@irem
3.5 stars
Mar 22, 2022
Photo of Udit Desai
Udit Desai@uydesai
3.5 stars
Mar 2, 2022
Photo of Sara Stevanovič
Sara Stevanovič@sarastevanovic
4 stars
Feb 17, 2022
Eloquent
Compelling
Insightful
Meaningful
Photo of Michael Ernst
Michael Ernst@beingernst
4 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of John
John@doubledouble
4 stars
Dec 10, 2023
Photo of Jake Dragash
Jake Dragash@jakedragash
5 stars
Aug 12, 2023
Photo of Taya Reznichenko
Taya Reznichenko@phillimore
5 stars
Aug 6, 2023
Photo of Erik Wallace
Erik Wallace@erikwallace
5 stars
Jul 26, 2023

Highlights

Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 311
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 269
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 262
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 257
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 228
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 227
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 196
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 163
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 122
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 96
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 68
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 42
Photo of Stan Govorukhin
Stan Govorukhin@govorukhin