Creative Selection
Audiobook
Compelling
Original
Timeless

Creative Selection Inside Apple's Design Process During the Golden Age of Steve Jobs

* WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER * An insider's account of Apple's creative process during the golden years of Steve Jobs. Hundreds of millions of people use Apple products every day; several thousand work on Apple's campus in Cupertino, California; but only a handful sit at the drawing board. Creative Selection recounts the life of one of the few who worked behind the scenes, a highly-respected software engineer who worked in the final years of the Steve Jobs era—the Golden Age of Apple. Ken Kocienda offers an inside look at Apple’s creative process. For fifteen years, he was on the ground floor of the company as a specialist, directly responsible for experimenting with novel user interface concepts and writing powerful, easy-to-use software for products including the iPhone, the iPad, and the Safari web browser. His stories explain the symbiotic relationship between software and product development for those who have never dreamed of programming a computer, and reveal what it was like to work on the cutting edge of technology at one of the world's most admired companies. Kocienda shares moments of struggle and success, crisis and collaboration, illuminating each with lessons learned over his Apple career. He introduces the essential elements of innovation—inspiration, collaboration, craft, diligence, decisiveness, taste, and empathy—and uses these as a lens through which to understand productive work culture. An insider's tale of creativity and innovation at Apple, Creative Selection shows readers how a small group of people developed an evolutionary design model, and how they used this methodology to make groundbreaking and intuitive software which countless millions use every day.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Jamie Rumbelow
Jamie Rumbelow@jamierumbelow
4 stars
May 29, 2023
Photo of James Bedford
James Bedford@james
4 stars
Nov 1, 2022
Timeless
Ambitious
Compelling
Photo of Josh Clement
Josh Clement@joshclement
3 stars
Mar 16, 2022
Photo of Luke Kanies
Luke Kanies@lak
4 stars
Dec 4, 2021
Photo of Palash Karia
Palash Karia@plsh
4 stars
Jul 31, 2021
Photo of Tyler Jefford
Tyler Jefford@tjefford
5 stars
Jun 10, 2021
Photo of Michael Camilleri
Michael Camilleri@pyrmont
5 stars
Jun 10, 2021
Photo of James Muspratt
James Muspratt@jmuspratt
3 stars
Feb 12, 2024
Photo of Nikita Pashinsky
Nikita Pashinsky@nikita
5 stars
Jul 10, 2023
Candid
Original
Meaningful
Photo of Bill Chung
Bill Chung@juneuprising
5 stars
Apr 11, 2023
Photo of Rishaan Desai
Rishaan Desai@rishaandesai
5 stars
Feb 17, 2023
Photo of Imran
Imran@imranashraf
4.5 stars
Sep 12, 2022
Photo of Guy Moorhouse
Guy Moorhouse@futurefabric
4 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Zak
Zak@zakman
5 stars
Jul 13, 2022
Photo of Jürgen Schweizer
Jürgen Schweizer@t3rtium
5 stars
Dec 9, 2021
Photo of Matthew Jackson
Matthew Jackson@matthewbeta
4 stars
Oct 2, 2023
Photo of Tanner Christensen
Tanner Christensen@tannerc
3 stars
Sep 21, 2023
Photo of Yuval Shoshan
Yuval Shoshan@yuvals
4 stars
Apr 18, 2023
Photo of Todd Prauner
Todd Prauner@tuddball
5 stars
Mar 25, 2023
Photo of Rudd Zwolinski
Rudd Zwolinski@starling
4 stars
Feb 26, 2023
Photo of Sanjay Krishna
Sanjay Krishna @sjaykh
4 stars
Nov 22, 2022
Photo of Tiffany
Tiffany@scientiffic
4 stars
Sep 26, 2022
Photo of Matthew Jackson
Matthew Jackson@matthewbeta
4 stars
Aug 24, 2022
Photo of Harry Marr
Harry Marr@hmarr
4 stars
Aug 22, 2022