Remarkably Bright Creatures
Charming
Heartwarming
Sweet

Remarkably Bright Creatures A Novel

For fans of A Man Called Ove, a luminous debut novel about a widow's unlikely friendship with a giant Pacific octopus reluctantly residing at the local aquarium--and the truths she finally uncovers about her son's disappearance thirty years ago. After Tova Sullivan's husband died, she began working the night shift at the Sowell Bay Aquarium, mopping floors and tidying up. Keeping busy has always helped her cope, which she's been doing since her eighteen-year-old son, Erik, mysteriously vanished on a boat in the Puget Sound over thirty years ago. As she works, Tova becomes acquainted with curmudgeonly Marcellus, a giant Pacific octopus living at the aquarium. Marcellus knows more than anyone can imagine but wouldn't dream of lifting one of his eight tentacles for his human captors--until he forms an unlikely friendship with Tova. Ever the detective, Marcellus deduces what happened the night Tova's son disappeared. As his affection for Tova grows, Marcellus must use every trick his old invertebrate body can muster to unearth the truth for her before it's too late. Charming, compulsively readable, and full of wit, Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel is a beautiful exploration of friendship, reckoning, and hope--a reminder that sometimes taking a hard look at the past can help uncover a future that once felt impossible.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Julie Rubens
Julie Rubens@julierubens
5 stars
Feb 15, 2024
Photo of Suzanne
Suzanne@macaronouioui
3 stars
Feb 10, 2024
Photo of Alice S
Alice S @shashkinii
4 stars
Feb 6, 2024
Photo of Jacqui Spears
Jacqui Spears@jcspears
4.5 stars
Feb 1, 2024
Photo of allison chen
allison chen@allisunflowerr
5 stars
Jan 31, 2024
Photo of Erin Darlyn
Erin Darlyn@erindarlyn
3 stars
Jan 25, 2024
Photo of Francesca Starecheski
Francesca Starecheski@cescastar
3 stars
Jan 22, 2024
Photo of Cody Degen
Cody Degen@codydegen
3 stars
Jan 12, 2024
Photo of Victoria
Victoria @murphyvm
5 stars
Jan 9, 2024
Photo of Jessica Kovalick
Jessica Kovalick@jessicakovalick
5 stars
Jan 7, 2024
Unique
Comforting
Photo of milly
milly@kissoff
5 stars
Jan 7, 2024
Photo of indri
indri@inclri
5 stars
Jan 5, 2024
Photo of Hannah Lee
Hannah Lee@hannahlee
3 stars
Dec 26, 2023
Photo of Howard Greller
Howard Greller@heshiegreshie
5 stars
Dec 20, 2023
Photo of Hannah Alexander
Hannah Alexander @reviews_a_latte
5 stars
Nov 7, 2023
Unique
Surreal
Powerful
Charming
Timeless
Ambitious
Visionary
Meaningful
Intelligent
Photo of Melissa Palmer
Melissa Palmer@melissapalmer404
5 stars
Nov 5, 2023
Photo of Olivia Rousseau
Olivia Rousseau @livluvlaugh
5 stars
Oct 11, 2023
Charming
Easy read
Predictable
Photo of Camille Mounce
Camille Mounce@cami_mounce
5 stars
Aug 30, 2023
Photo of Elizabeth Wood
Elizabeth Wood@ejwood41
5 stars
Aug 21, 2023
Photo of Frederik De Bosschere
Frederik De Bosschere@freddy
3 stars
Aug 5, 2023
Photo of Jessie!
Jessie!@whatsjessiereadingrightnow
5 stars
Jul 31, 2023
Remarkable
Photo of Brandon
Brandon@books_with_brandon
3 stars
Jul 28, 2023
Easy read
Heartwarming
Photo of Kaitlyn Wendler
Kaitlyn Wendler@kaitlynwendler
4 stars
Jul 24, 2023
Sweet
Charming
Easy read
Repetitive
Photo of Petaco
Petaco@didyousaytaco
5 stars
Jul 15, 2023

Highlights

Photo of Lynn
Lynn@moomin