Remarkably Bright Creatures
Delightful
Heartwarming
Sweet

Remarkably Bright Creatures A Novel

For fans of A Man Called Ove, a luminous debut novel about a widow's unlikely friendship with a giant Pacific octopus reluctantly residing at the local aquarium--and the truths she finally uncovers about her son's disappearance thirty years ago. After Tova Sullivan's husband died, she began working the night shift at the Sowell Bay Aquarium, mopping floors and tidying up. Keeping busy has always helped her cope, which she's been doing since her eighteen-year-old son, Erik, mysteriously vanished on a boat in the Puget Sound over thirty years ago. As she works, Tova becomes acquainted with curmudgeonly Marcellus, a giant Pacific octopus living at the aquarium. Marcellus knows more than anyone can imagine but wouldn't dream of lifting one of his eight tentacles for his human captors--until he forms an unlikely friendship with Tova. Ever the detective, Marcellus deduces what happened the night Tova's son disappeared. As his affection for Tova grows, Marcellus must use every trick his old invertebrate body can muster to unearth the truth for her before it's too late. Charming, compulsively readable, and full of wit, Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel is a beautiful exploration of friendship, reckoning, and hope--a reminder that sometimes taking a hard look at the past can help uncover a future that once felt impossible.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Brianna
Brianna@dinosauriaclade
4 stars
Jan 26, 2023
Heartwarming
Photo of Sam White
Sam White@samiwhit68
3.5 stars
Jan 11, 2023
Pure
Charming
Heartwarming
Photo of Kelly Bergh
Kelly Bergh@kellybergh
4.5 stars
Jan 10, 2023
Photo of Lee
Lee@catboydetective
5 stars
Jan 9, 2023
Touching
Beautiful
Photo of Jennifer Palmer
Jennifer Palmer@mompalm
5 stars
Dec 31, 2022
Photo of Barbara Williford
Barbara Williford@barbarawilliford
5 stars
Nov 14, 2022
Magnetic
Remarkable
Delightful
Unforgettable
Photo of Cheri McElroy
Cheri McElroy@cherimac
5 stars
Sep 5, 2022
Photo of Avery Baumel
Avery Baumel@aviebaum
4 stars
Aug 14, 2022
Photo of Julia Li
Julia Li@julliiali
5 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Megan BV
Megan BV@megplantparm
4 stars
Jul 1, 2022
Photo of Millie Wert
Millie Wert@milliewert
3.5 stars
Jan 22, 2023
Sweet
Unique
Layered
Vibrant
Creative
Delightful
Photo of paperandfiction
paperandfiction@paperandfiction
5 stars
Jan 7, 2023
Pure
Sweet
Original
Refreshing
Photo of Jenna Moreland
Jenna Moreland@jennamoreland27
4.5 stars
Dec 14, 2022
Original
Meaningful
Photo of Jake Short
Jake Short@jakeshort
5 stars
Oct 18, 2022
Sweet
Candid
Heartwarming
Photo of Alice Walker
Alice Walker@alicewalker
5 stars
Jul 18, 2022
Photo of Robin M Cabana
Robin M Cabana@rmcabana
5 stars
Jun 14, 2022
Photo of c. y.
c. y.@cy
3.5 stars
Jun 12, 2022
Photo of Mackenzie Cole
Mackenzie Cole@slothrower05
3.5 stars
Jun 6, 2022
Photo of Md Deno
Md Deno@mddeno
4 stars
Jan 30, 2023
Photo of Chris G
Chris G@encima
4 stars
Jan 13, 2023
Photo of Kristen Claiborn
Kristen Claiborn@kristenc
4 stars
Jan 7, 2023
Photo of Stephanie Capuzzo
Stephanie Capuzzo@scapuzz
5 stars
Dec 31, 2022
Photo of Connie
Connie@cludecoeur
3 stars
Dec 29, 2022
Photo of Ronda Bender
Ronda Bender@rondazbent24
5 stars
Nov 30, 2022