The Age of Surveillance Capitalism
Sophisticated
Profound
Original

The Age of Surveillance Capitalism The Fight for a Human Future at the New Frontier of Power

The challenges to humanity posed by the digital future, the first detailed examination of the unprecedented form of power called "surveillance capitalism," and the quest by powerful corporations to predict and control our behavior. Shoshana Zuboff's interdisciplinary breadth and depth enable her to come to grips with the social, political, business, and technological meaning of the changes taking place in our time. We are at a critical juncture in the confrontation between the vast power of giant high-tech companies and government, the hidden economic logic of surveillance capitalism, and the propaganda of machine supremacy that threaten to shape and control human life. Will the brazen new methods of social engineering and behavior modification threaten individual autonomy and democratic rights and introduce extreme new forms of social inequality? Or will the promise of the digital age be one of individual empowerment and democratization? The Age of Surveillance Capitalism is neither a hand-wringing narrative of danger and decline nor a digital fairy tale. Rather, it offers a deeply reasoned and evocative examination of the contests over the next chapter of capitalism that will decide the meaning of information civilization in the twenty-first century. The stark issue at hand is whether we will be the masters of information and machines or its slaves.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Noisy Deadlines
Noisy Deadlines@noisydeadlines
4 stars
Nov 4, 2022
Photo of Ivaylo Durmonski
Ivaylo Durmonski@durmonski
5 stars
Oct 29, 2021
Photo of Tao Oat
Tao Oat@tao
4.5 stars
Oct 14, 2021
Charming
Profound
Original
Extraordinary
Photo of Bryan Alexander
Bryan Alexander@bryanalexander
4 stars
Jul 29, 2021
Photo of Rupert Dannreuther
Rupert Dannreuther@toberead
3 stars
Jul 28, 2021
Photo of Daniel Bower
Daniel Bower@danielbower
4 stars
Oct 21, 2021
Sophisticated
Thought provoking
Photo of Ankush Swarnakar
Ankush Swarnakar@ankushswar1
3 stars
Oct 24, 2022
Photo of Garrett Jansen
Garrett Jansen@frailtyy
5 stars
Aug 17, 2022
Photo of Kait Long
Kait Long@kaitlong
5 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Alexandra
Alexandra@afswinton
5 stars
Jun 6, 2022
Photo of Sergio Opalé
Sergio Opalé@sergioopale
4 stars
May 29, 2022
Photo of Angelo Zinna
Angelo Zinna@angelozinna
5 stars
Jan 28, 2022
Photo of Paige Carter
Paige Carter@paigeccarter
4 stars
Jan 10, 2022
Photo of Alina
Alina@alinamila
4 stars
Jan 4, 2022
Photo of Colin O'Brien
Colin O'Brien@onepointzero
4 stars
Dec 28, 2021
Photo of Nicholas Hanemann
Nicholas Hanemann@nick_h
5 stars
Dec 20, 2021
Photo of Thiago Mendes
Thiago Mendes@fritas
1 star
Dec 2, 2021
Photo of Fat Geisha
Fat Geisha@fatgeisha
5 stars
Nov 18, 2021
Photo of Celine Nguyen ✿
Celine Nguyen ✿@celinenguyen
5 stars
Nov 11, 2021
Photo of Nathan H
Nathan H@natehn
5 stars
Nov 10, 2021
Photo of Zoe Proegler
Zoe Proegler@zoeprglr
4 stars
Oct 31, 2021
Photo of Nikolina Lednicki
Nikolina Lednicki@nikolina
5 stars
Oct 6, 2021
Photo of Owen Kraft
Owen Kraft@owen
3 stars
Aug 15, 2021
Photo of Hidde
Hidde@hdv
4 stars
Aug 14, 2021

Highlights

Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 38
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 39
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 39
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 42
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 43
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 70
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 71
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 74
Photo of Eneko Uruñuela
Eneko Uruñuela@eurunuela
Page 84
Photo of Tao Oat
Tao Oat@tao
Page 376
Photo of Tao Oat
Tao Oat@tao
Page 129
Photo of Tao Oat
Tao Oat@tao
Page 94