The Beautiful and Damned
Offbeat
Pretentious
Dry

The Beautiful and Damned

The Beautiful and Damned is the story of Anthony Patch and his wife, Gloria. Harvard-educated and an aspiring aesthete, Patch is waiting for his inheritance upon his grandfather’s death. His reckless marriage to Gloria is fueled by alcohol and destroyed by greed. The Patches race through a series of alcohol-induced fiascoes——first in hilarity, then in despair. The Beautiful and Damned, a devastating portrait of the nouveaux riches, New York nightlife, reckless ambition, and squandered talent, was published in 1922 on the heels of Fitzgerald’s first novel, This Side of Paradise. It signaled his maturity as a storyteller and confirmed his enormous talent as a novelist.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Alissa Minard
Alissa Minard@lissam
4 stars
Oct 10, 2022
Photo of Barbara Williford
Barbara Williford@barbarawilliford
5 stars
May 7, 2022
Photo of Uahuu Tujendapi
Uahuu Tujendapi @uahuuscorner
1 star
Mar 17, 2022
Photo of Sarah Escorsa
Sarah Escorsa@shrimpy
4 stars
Mar 8, 2022
Photo of Jeni Enjaian
Jeni Enjaian@jenienjaian
4 stars
Oct 30, 2021
Photo of Nona G
Nona G@nonabgo
3 stars
Oct 26, 2021
Photo of Stavros Kosmas
Stavros Kosmas@citrusafternoon
4 stars
Oct 25, 2021
Photo of Jawahir M
Jawahir M@jawahirthebookworm
3 stars
Oct 18, 2021
Photo of Brittany Firmes
Brittany Firmes@britt_reads
3 stars
Aug 30, 2021
Photo of MacCardle
MacCardle@megan15
4 stars
Sep 22, 2022
Photo of Anita
Anita@anita-z
3 stars
Sep 4, 2022
Photo of Aish Narang
Aish Narang@aishnarang
4 stars
Jun 12, 2022
Photo of Fatin Allen
Fatin Allen@fatinallen
2 stars
May 28, 2022
Dry
Offbeat
Pretentious
Photo of Tori Townsend
Tori Townsend@torirose
2 stars
Apr 26, 2022
Photo of pin
pin@pindgz
3.5 stars
Mar 7, 2022
Photo of Tamika
Tamika @tamika
4 stars
Feb 8, 2022
Photo of Hannah Pilkington
Hannah Pilkington@hannah76
3.5 stars
Jan 22, 2022
Photo of Emma Greene
Emma Greene@emmagreene18
4 stars
Nov 24, 2022
Photo of Jess
Jess@jessmvrray
3 stars
Nov 2, 2022
Photo of Sophia Minetos
Sophia Minetos@sminetos
4 stars
Oct 3, 2022
Photo of Toyah Blackburn
Toyah Blackburn@rockabillybibliophile
4 stars
Sep 28, 2022
Photo of High Fidelity
High Fidelity@highfidelity
3 stars
Sep 19, 2022
Photo of Prashansa Tripathi
Prashansa Tripathi@prashansa_2408
3 stars
Sep 7, 2022
Photo of Korey
Korey@webbk18
4 stars
Aug 27, 2022

Highlights

Photo of Alissa Minard
Alissa Minard@lissam
Page 150
Photo of Alissa Minard
Alissa Minard@lissam
Page 56