A Guide to the Good Life
Cerebral
Expressive
Original

A Guide to the Good Life The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy

One of the great fears many of us face is that despite all our effort and striving, we will discover at the end that we have wasted our life. In A Guide to the Good Life, William B. Irvine plumbs the wisdom of Stoic philosophy, one of the most popular and successful schools of thought in ancient Rome, and shows how its insight and advice are still remarkably applicable to modern lives. In A Guide to the Good Life, Irvine offers a refreshing presentation of Stoicism, showing how this ancient philosophy can still direct us toward a better life. Using the psychological insights and the practical techniques of the Stoics, Irvine offers a roadmap for anyone seeking to avoid the feelings of chronic dissatisfaction that plague so many of us. Irvine looks at various Stoic techniques for attaining tranquility and shows how to put these techniques to work in our own life. As he does so, he describes his own experiences practicing Stoicism and offers valuable first-hand advice for anyone wishing to live better by following in the footsteps of these ancient philosophers. Readers learn how to minimize worry, how to let go of the past and focus our efforts on the things we can control, and how to deal with insults, grief, old age, and the distracting temptations of fame and fortune. We learn from Marcus Aurelius the importance of prizing only things of true value, and from Epictetus we learn how to be more content with what we have. Finally, A Guide to the Good Life shows readers how to become thoughtful observers of their own life. If we watch ourselves as we go about our daily business and later reflect on what we saw, we can better identify the sources of distress and eventually avoid that pain in our life. By doing this, the Stoics thought, we can hope to attain a truly joyful life.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Irene Alegre
Irene Alegre@irenealegre
3 stars
Aug 15, 2022
Photo of Benjamin Harrison
Benjamin Harrison@c0nsilience
5 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Unique
Magnetic
Cerebral
Original
Inventive
Expressive
Intelligent
Photo of Giovanni Garcia-Fenech
Giovanni Garcia-Fenech @giovannigf
2 stars
Feb 9, 2022
Photo of Juan Sebastián Escobar
Juan Sebastián Escobar@jsescobar
3 stars
Aug 17, 2021
Photo of Adam
Adam@adam
5 stars
Aug 17, 2021
Photo of Nguyễn Hoàng Long
Nguyễn Hoàng Long@nhlong
4.5 stars
Mar 15, 2022
Photo of Ben Roberts
Ben Roberts@benjammin
5 stars
Jan 31, 2023
Photo of Drew Spartz
Drew Spartz@drewspartz
4 stars
Jan 26, 2023
Photo of Alistair James
Alistair James@amj2264
4 stars
Jan 25, 2023
Photo of Dan
Dan@danbell
4 stars
Jan 17, 2023
Photo of Andre Schweighofer
Andre Schweighofer@dre
3 stars
Jan 13, 2023
Photo of Frederik De Bosschere
Frederik De Bosschere@freddy
3 stars
Jan 3, 2023
Photo of Dylan Garrett
Dylan Garrett@dygar
3 stars
Dec 22, 2022
Photo of Aro
Aro@notaro14
5 stars
Nov 29, 2022
Photo of jordan
jordan@jksbooks
3 stars
Sep 2, 2022
Photo of Rory O'K
Rory O'K@ror
5 stars
Aug 31, 2022
Photo of Ethan Hussong
Ethan Hussong@ehussong
4 stars
Aug 29, 2022
Photo of Piotr Kulpinski
Piotr Kulpinski@piotrkulpinski
4 stars
Aug 29, 2022
Photo of Kelvin Man
Kelvin Man@kelvinman
5 stars
Aug 25, 2022
Photo of Ri Liu
Ri Liu@riblah
3 stars
Aug 24, 2022
Photo of Patrick Baumann
Patrick Baumann@pbaumann
4 stars
Aug 17, 2022
Photo of Sachit Bhat
Sachit Bhat@sachitbhat
5 stars
Aug 15, 2022
Photo of Mike Sapiton
Mike Sapiton@sapiton
5 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Christopher Wheeler
Christopher Wheeler@woolgatherist
3 stars
Aug 12, 2022