Algorithms to Live By
Compelling
Educational
Meaningful

Algorithms to Live By The Computer Science of Human Decisions

A fascinating exploration of how insights from computer algorithms can be applied to our everyday lives, helping to solve common decision-making problems and illuminate the workings of the human mind All our lives are constrained by limited space and time, limits that give rise to a particular set of problems. What should we do, or leave undone, in a day or a lifetime? How much messiness should we accept? What balance of new activities and familiar favorites is the most fulfilling? These may seem like uniquely human quandaries, but they are not: computers, too, face the same constraints, so computer scientists have been grappling with their version of such issues for decades. And the solutions they've found have much to teach us. In a dazzlingly interdisciplinary work, acclaimed author Brian Christian and cognitive scientist Tom Griffiths show how the algorithms used by computers can also untangle very human questions. They explain how to have better hunches and when to leave things to chance, how to deal with overwhelming choices and how best to connect with others. From finding a spouse to finding a parking spot, from organizing one's inbox to understanding the workings of memory, Algorithms to Live By transforms the wisdom of computer science into strategies for human living.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Asim Gasimzade
Asim Gasimzade@asim
5 stars
Jan 2, 2024
Photo of Jaiden Ratti
Jaiden Ratti@jaiden
3 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of Ashlyn
Ashlyn@demonxore
4 stars
Sep 8, 2023
Compelling
Meaningful
Educational
Photo of Anthony
Anthony@amorriscode
4 stars
Mar 25, 2023
Photo of Thomas DeCelle
Thomas DeCelle@tdecelle
5 stars
Feb 4, 2023
Photo of Rohini Anandamurugan
Rohini Anandamurugan@rohini-anandamurugan
4 stars
Jan 20, 2023
Photo of Swastik
Swastik@swastik
5 stars
Nov 27, 2022
Photo of Hrishikesh Bhaskaran
Hrishikesh Bhaskaran@stultus
5 stars
Nov 21, 2022
Photo of Ryan Angel
Ryan Angel@turnanewpage
3 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Kyle S
Kyle S@kylesq9
4 stars
Aug 5, 2022
Photo of Jeni Enjaian
Jeni Enjaian@jenienjaian
3 stars
Oct 30, 2021
Photo of Rebeca Keren Nuñez
Rebeca Keren Nuñez@rebecanunez
4 stars
Oct 25, 2021
Photo of Lance Willett
Lance Willett@lancewillett
4 stars
Oct 11, 2021
Photo of Sameer Vasta
Sameer Vasta@vasta
4 stars
Sep 24, 2021
Photo of Lucas Coelho
Lucas Coelho@coelholucas
5 stars
Sep 20, 2021
Photo of Luca Conti
Luca Conti@lucaconti
4 stars
Sep 10, 2021
Photo of Dani
Dani@erudani
5 stars
Sep 7, 2021
Photo of Ilia Markov
Ilia Markov@ilia
4 stars
Aug 1, 2021
Photo of Lucas Melin
Lucas Melin@lucasmelin
4 stars
Dec 16, 2023
Educational
Thought provoking
Photo of Rebeca Keren Nuñez
Rebeca Keren Nuñez@rebecanunez
4 stars
Jun 17, 2022
Photo of Sydney plitt
Sydney plitt@sydneyreadssometimes
5 stars
Nov 11, 2021
Photo of Tobias Dickenson
Tobias Dickenson@tobyornot2b
3 stars
Feb 15, 2024
Photo of Sara Sunshine
Sara Sunshine@sarasunsh
5 stars
Jan 30, 2024
Photo of David Furnes
David Furnes@dfurnes
4 stars
Jan 25, 2024