Ender's Game
Page turning
Compelling
Thought provoking

Ender's Game

From New York Times bestselling author Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game is the classic Hugo and Nebula award-winning science fiction novel of a young boy's recruitment into the midst of an interstellar war. In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race's next attack, government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers. A brilliant young boy, Andrew "Ender" Wiggin lives with his kind but distant parents, his sadistic brother Peter, and the person he loves more than anyone else, his sister Valentine. Peter and Valentine were candidates for the soldier-training program but didn't make the cut—young Ender is the Wiggin drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender's skills make him a leader in school and respected in the Battle Room, where children play at mock battles in zero gravity. Yet growing up in an artificial community of young soldiers Ender suffers greatly from isolation, rivalry from his peers, pressure from the adult teachers, and an unsettling fear of the alien invaders. His psychological battles include loneliness, fear that he is becoming like the cruel brother he remembers, and fanning the flames of devotion to his beloved sister. Is Ender the general Earth needs? But Ender is not the only result of the genetic experiments. The war with the Buggers has been raging for a hundred years, and the quest for the perfect general has been underway for almost as long. Ender's two older siblings are every bit as unusual as he is, but in very different ways. Between the three of them lie the abilities to remake a world. If, that is, the world survives. Orson Scott Card's Ender's Game is the winner of the 1985 Nebula Award for Best Novel and the 1986 Hugo Award for Best Novel. THE ENDER UNIVERSE Ender Quintet series Ender’s Game / Ender in Exile / Speaker for the Dead / Xenocide / Children of the Mind Ender’s Shadow series Ender’s Shadow / Shadow of the Hegemon / Shadow Puppets / Shadow of the Giant / Shadows in Flight Children of the Fleet The First Formic War (with Aaron Johnston) Earth Unaware / Earth Afire / Earth Awakens The Second Formic War (with Aaron Johnston) The Swarm /The Hive Ender novellas A War of Gifts /First Meetings
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Lloyd Humphreys
Lloyd Humphreys@lloyd
4.5 stars
Feb 5, 2024
Unique
Simple
Creative
Unforgettable
Photo of Aamna
Aamna@aamnakhan
4 stars
Dec 20, 2023
Photo of Pepper
Pepper@storysworled
4 stars
Dec 9, 2023
Photo of Frederik De Bosschere
Frederik De Bosschere@freddy
2 stars
Dec 7, 2023
Photo of Aaron J Mitchell
Aaron J Mitchell@captainacrab
3 stars
Dec 5, 2023
Photo of Jaden Nelson
Jaden Nelson@unojaden
4 stars
Nov 30, 2023
Photo of Emma Daniels
Emma Daniels@pudgethefish
5 stars
Nov 21, 2023
Photo of Toby Baratta
Toby Baratta@tobybaratta
4 stars
Oct 13, 2023
Photo of Andrew John Kinney
Andrew John Kinney@numidica
3 stars
Aug 18, 2023
Photo of Coleman McCormick
Coleman McCormick@coleman
4 stars
Aug 13, 2023
Photo of Shape Mismatch
Shape Mismatch@shape_mismatch
3 stars
Aug 1, 2023
Photo of Liz Hunsaker
Liz Hunsaker@elizabethanne
3 stars
May 16, 2023
Photo of Gavin
Gavin@gl
3 stars
Mar 9, 2023
Photo of Lord Aragorn
Lord Aragorn@lordaragorn
5 stars
Feb 19, 2023
Photo of Charlotte Dann
Charlotte Dann@chareads
2 stars
Feb 6, 2023
Photo of Ben Silverman
Ben Silverman @bens
4 stars
Jan 31, 2023
Photo of Aviv Leo Zippin
Aviv Leo Zippin@leozippin
5 stars
Jan 22, 2023
Photo of s
s@wwxdizii
4 stars
Jan 21, 2023
Photo of Ben Jenkins
Ben Jenkins@benjenkins
5 stars
Jan 2, 2023
Photo of Scott Wilson
Scott Wilson@createpei
5 stars
Dec 28, 2022
Photo of Amy Thibodeau
Amy Thibodeau@amythibodeau
4 stars
Dec 26, 2022
Photo of Kathy Jedrzejczyk
Kathy Jedrzejczyk@kathyj84
3 stars
Dec 15, 2022
Photo of Ryan LaFerney
Ryan LaFerney@ryantlaferney
5 stars
Dec 15, 2022
Photo of Nicole Sonja
Nicole Sonja@nicolesonja
3 stars
Dec 10, 2022

Highlights

Photo of Emily
Emily@emilywright
Photo of Andrew Ross
Andrew Ross@rossa
Page 240
Photo of Andrew Ross
Andrew Ross@rossa
Page 233