Endurance
Delightful
Inspirational
Predictable

Endurance Shackleton's Incredible Voyage

Discover one of the greatest adventure stories of the modern age: the harrowing tale of British explorer Ernest Shackleton's 1914 attempt to reach the South Pole. In August 1914, polar explorer Ernest Shackleton boarded the Endurance and set sail for Antarctica, where he planned to cross the last uncharted continent on foot. In January 1915, after battling its way through a thousand miles of pack ice and only a day's sail short of its destination, the Endurance became locked in an island of ice. Thus began the legendary ordeal of Shackleton and his crew of twenty-seven men. When their ship was finally crushed between two ice floes, they attempted a near-impossible journey over 850 miles of the South Atlantic's heaviest seas to the closest outpost of civilization. In Endurance, the definitive account of Ernest Shackleton's fateful trip, Alfred Lansing brilliantly narrates the harrowing and miraculous voyage that has defined heroism for the modern age.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Matthew
Matthew@kopi
5 stars
Mar 23, 2023
Bold
Vivid
Daring
Erratic
Charming
Cerebral
Creative
Beautiful
Ambitious
Inventive
Easy read
Remarkable
Delightful
Predictable
Page turning
Photo of Simon Lund Larsen
Simon Lund Larsen@marsnielson
5 stars
Feb 6, 2023
Photo of Ellie Vanderlip
Ellie Vanderlip@elliewee
Photo of Stefano Zorzi
Stefano Zorzi@stefano
5 stars
Dec 27, 2022
Fascinating
Inspirational
Photo of Kevin Werme
Kevin Werme@kevinwerme
4.5 stars
May 15, 2022
Photo of Omar Fernandez
Omar Fernandez@omareduardo
3.5 stars
Apr 14, 2022
Intense
Unforgettable
Photo of Melody Izard
Melody Izard@mizard
5 stars
Jan 10, 2022
Photo of Lukas Gräf
Lukas Gräf@lukasg
5 stars
Nov 28, 2021
Photo of Jeremy Anderberg
Jeremy Anderberg@jeremyanderberg
3 stars
Nov 18, 2021
Photo of Kimberly
Kimberly@kmbrly925
4 stars
Nov 17, 2021
Photo of Jonathan Phillips
Jonathan Phillips@jonph14
5 stars
Jun 17, 2022
Photo of Madeline Adams
Madeline Adams@madams-baardman
5 stars
Mar 5, 2023
Photo of Keven Wang
Keven Wang@kevenwang
3 stars
Feb 4, 2023
Photo of alex m
alex m@plusfour
5 stars
Jan 28, 2023
Photo of Drew Spartz
Drew Spartz@drewspartz
5 stars
Jan 26, 2023
Photo of Rory O'K
Rory O'K@ror
5 stars
Jan 26, 2023
Photo of Rafael Garcia
Rafael Garcia@raf
5 stars
Jan 19, 2023
Photo of Brandon Mills
Brandon Mills@bmills
5 stars
Dec 22, 2022
Photo of H
H@mildboava
5 stars
Dec 16, 2022
Photo of Jessica Deaner
Jessica Deaner@jess1rph
5 stars
Nov 5, 2022
Photo of Kelsey W
Kelsey W@kyw
5 stars
Oct 26, 2022
Photo of John Bush
John Bush@fjbiv
5 stars
Oct 8, 2022
Photo of Nicola Fisher
Nicola Fisher@nicolafisher
5 stars
Oct 2, 2022
Photo of Gracie Webb
Gracie Webb@graciew
5 stars
Sep 22, 2022