The Road to Wigan Pier
Remarkable
Layered
Visionary

The Road to Wigan Pier

George Orwell2021
'It is only when you meet someone of a different culture from yourself that you begin to realize what your own beliefs really are.' The Road to Wigan Pier is George Orwell's 1937 study of poverty and working-class life in northern England. It is the book which established Orwell as among Britain's foremost political and social commentators. It is, moreover, essential for any reader who wishes to gain a deeper understanding of Orwell's life, work and legacy. This non-fiction work set the tone for Orwell's subsequent career, by focusing on class relations within Britain and political solutions to social problems. The Road to Wigan Pier has remained widely read since his death, running to several editions, and providing a point of comparison for later social and political commentaries
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of adinda
adinda@doostoevskij
3 stars
Apr 13, 2024
Pure
Honest
Original
Photo of Daniel Bower
Daniel Bower@danielbower
4.5 stars
Jun 14, 2023
Visionary
Obnoxious
Remarkable
Depressing
Photo of Gavin
Gavin@gl
3 stars
Mar 9, 2023
Photo of Josh Clement
Josh Clement@joshclement
4 stars
Mar 16, 2022
Photo of Olivera Mitić
Olivera Mitić@olyschka
2 stars
Nov 24, 2021
Photo of William Martinsson
William Martinsson @williammartinsson
4 stars
May 26, 2024
Timeless
Thought provoking
Photo of Ellis Millet
Ellis Millet@ellismillet
5 stars
Aug 17, 2022
Photo of Mihai Nueleanu
Mihai Nueleanu@mihai
4.5 stars
May 19, 2022
Layered
Powerful
Remarkable
Contemplative
Photo of John Philpin
John Philpin@johnphilpin
4 stars
May 2, 2022
Photo of Helen Bright
Helen Bright@lemonista
4 stars
Jul 4, 2024
Photo of Matthew Jackson
Matthew Jackson@matthewbeta
3 stars
Oct 2, 2023
Photo of Alexandra Vo
Alexandra Vo@ph_anh
4 stars
Apr 23, 2023
Photo of Katie
Katie @knix
4 stars
Jan 9, 2023
Photo of Yuvraj Jha
Yuvraj Jha@yuvraj
4 stars
Oct 21, 2022
Photo of Kate Sigrist
Kate Sigrist@katesigrist
4 stars
Aug 29, 2022
Photo of Matthew Jackson
Matthew Jackson@matthewbeta
3 stars
Aug 24, 2022
Photo of Alexander Lobov
Alexander Lobov@alexlobov
3 stars
Jun 10, 2022
Photo of Rebecca Bream
Rebecca Bream@rebeccabream
4 stars
May 16, 2022
Photo of Ashley Morin
Ashley Morin@ashmm
4 stars
Mar 10, 2022
Photo of Sean Michael McGraw
Sean Michael McGraw@seanmichaelmcgraw
4 stars
Feb 28, 2022
Photo of Caroline
Caroline@carowil
3 stars
Jan 29, 2022
Photo of Hux Sessa
Hux Sessa@huxinator
4 stars
Dec 14, 2021
Photo of Julia A.
Julia A.@brizna
5 stars
Dec 13, 2021
Photo of Julia A.
Julia A.@brizna
3 stars
Dec 13, 2021

Highlights

Photo of Daniel Bower
Daniel Bower@danielbower
Page 187
Photo of Daniel Bower
Daniel Bower@danielbower