Permanent Record
Page turning
Tragic
Insightful

Permanent Record

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system and what motivated him to try to bring it down. In 2013, twenty-nine-year-old Edward Snowden shocked the world when he broke with the American intelligence establishment and revealed that the United States government was secretly pursuing the means to collect every single phone call, text message, and email. The result would be an unprecedented system of mass surveillance with the ability to pry into the private lives of every person on earth. Six years later, Snowden reveals for the very first time how he helped to build this system and why he was moved to expose it. Spanning the bucolic Beltway suburbs of his childhood and the clandestine CIA and NSA postings of his adulthood, Permanent Record is the extraordinary account of a bright young man who grew up online—a man who became a spy, a whistleblower, and, in exile, the Internet’s conscience. Written with wit, grace, passion, and an unflinching candor, Permanent Record is a crucial memoir of our digital age and destined to be a classic.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Shona Tiger
Shona Tiger@shonatiger
4 stars
Jan 19, 2023
Photo of Simao Freitas
Simao Freitas@simao
5 stars
Jan 19, 2023
Photo of Andy Sporring
Andy Sporring@andysporring
4 stars
Nov 20, 2022
Photo of Yasser Yahia
Yasser Yahia@yasseryahia
3 stars
Sep 2, 2022
Photo of Kuba Milcarz
Kuba Milcarz@kubamilcarz
4 stars
Aug 17, 2022
Photo of Jk Jensen
Jk Jensen@jkj
5 stars
Aug 14, 2022
Photo of Emma Friedheim
Emma Friedheim@emrosemary
3 stars
Jun 24, 2022
Photo of Nat Welch
Nat Welch@icco
3 stars
Dec 29, 2021
Photo of Luisa Mallory
Luisa Mallory @lulila
5 stars
Nov 6, 2021
Tragic
Powerful
Touching
Visionary
Fast paced
Insightful
Page turning
Unforgettable
Thought provoking
Photo of Rob Brogan
Rob Brogan@rob
4 stars
Sep 14, 2021
Photo of Kirill So
Kirill So@kirill
3 stars
Aug 14, 2021
Photo of Darice de Cuba
Darice de Cuba@Darice
5 stars
Jul 27, 2021
Photo of muesli
muesli@muesli
4.5 stars
Sep 13, 2022
Photo of Robin
Robin@iamrobin
4 stars
Sep 8, 2022
Photo of Luca Stromann
Luca Stromann@l-s
4.5 stars
Aug 31, 2022
Photo of Antoine D
Antoine D@antoine367
5 stars
Aug 15, 2022
Photo of Wataru N.
Wataru N.@wnxwn
4 stars
Aug 3, 2022
Tragic
Insightful
Intelligent
Photo of Bridget
Bridget@bc-kelly
4.5 stars
Apr 19, 2022
Photo of Kevin Heinrich
Kevin Heinrich@kevslev
4 stars
Mar 27, 2022
Photo of John Ireland
John Ireland@john_i
4 stars
Feb 2, 2022
Pure
Honest
Cerebral
Easy read
Awe-inspiring
Photo of Niklas Siefke
Niklas Siefke@niklasfyi
4 stars
Jan 31, 2023
Photo of Ben Roberts
Ben Roberts@benjammin
5 stars
Jan 31, 2023
Photo of Blake Hord
Blake Hord@blakehord
5 stars
Jan 29, 2023
Photo of Jakub Kopys
Jakub Kopys@jakubkopys
5 stars
Jan 27, 2023