The Bomber Mafia
Addictive
Page turning
Simple

The Bomber Mafia A Dream, a Temptation, and the Longest Night of the Second World War

An exploration of how technology and best intentions collide in the heat of war In The Bomber Mafia, Malcolm Gladwell weaves together the stories of a Dutch genius and his homemade computer, a band of brothers in central Alabama, a British psychopath, and pyromaniacal chemists at Harvard to examine one of the greatest moral challenges in modern American history. Most military thinkers in the years leading up to World War II saw the airplane as an afterthought. But a small band of idealistic strategists had a different view. This "Bomber Mafia" asked: What if precision bombing could, just by taking out critical choke points--industrial or transportation hubs--cripple the enemy and make war far less lethal? In his podcast, Revisionist History, Gladwell reexamines moments from the past and asks whether we got it right the first time. In TheBomber Mafia, he steps back from the bombing of Tokyo on the deadliest night of the war and asks, "Was it worth it?" The attack was the brainchild of General Curtis LeMay, whose brutal pragmatism and scorched-earth tactics in Japan cost tens of thousands of civilian lives, but may have spared more by averting a planned US invasion. Things might have gone differently had LeMay's predecessor, General Haywood Hansell, remained in charge. As a key member of the Bomber Mafia, Hansell believed in precision bombing, but his theories had been foiled by bad weather, enemy jet fighters, and human error. When he and Curtis LeMay squared off for a leadership handover in the jungles of Guam, LeMay emerged victorious, leading to the darkest night of World War II. The Bomber Mafia is a riveting tale of persistence, innovation, and the incalculable wages of war.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of James Wattie
James Wattie@jameswattie
4 stars
Jul 4, 2024
Photo of Emily
Emily@justcallmeemily
4 stars
Apr 20, 2024
Photo of Mani Mohan
Mani Mohan@manee
3 stars
Aug 29, 2023
Photo of Callistus Ndemo
Callistus Ndemo@callistus
4 stars
Jul 9, 2023
Photo of Lord Aragorn
Lord Aragorn@lordaragorn
5 stars
Feb 19, 2023
Photo of Keven Wang
Keven Wang@kevenwang
5 stars
Feb 4, 2023
Photo of Erwin Lemuel Oliva
Erwin Lemuel Oliva@erwinoliva
4 stars
Jan 26, 2023
Photo of oscar north
oscar north@yackl
3.5 stars
Dec 19, 2022
Simple
Magnetic
Addictive
Page turning
Photo of Todd Luallen
Todd Luallen@tluallen
5 stars
Aug 29, 2022
Photo of Ethan Hill
Ethan Hill@localhero
2 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Jeremy Anderberg
Jeremy Anderberg@jeremyanderberg
4 stars
Nov 18, 2021
Photo of Jillian Slindee
Jillian Slindee@jslindee
2 stars
Nov 3, 2021
Photo of Nikita Barsukov
Nikita Barsukov@barsukov
5 stars
Aug 19, 2021
Photo of Cody Madden
Cody Madden@penguin
5 stars
Jun 2, 2024
Photo of Kevin Werme
Kevin Werme@kevinwerme
3 stars
Sep 1, 2022
Photo of Wynn Netherland
Wynn Netherland@wynn
1.5 stars
Feb 5, 2022
Photo of Kubilay Kahveci
Kubilay Kahveci@mkubilayk
4 stars
Jan 4, 2022
Photo of Kubilay Kahveci
Kubilay Kahveci@mkubilayk
4 stars
Jan 3, 2022
Photo of Mat Connor
Mat Connor@mconnor
3 stars
Jun 25, 2024
Photo of Darren Olivier
Darren Olivier@darreno
3 stars
Apr 10, 2024
Photo of Levi B
Levi B@levibe
4 stars
Mar 22, 2024
Photo of Anton
Anton@tonyv
5 stars
Feb 12, 2024
Photo of Sam
Sam@givemenothing
4 stars
Jan 8, 2024
Photo of Hooman Rostami
Hooman Rostami@hooman
5 stars
Jan 7, 2024