The Remains of the Day
Sophisticated
Contemplative
Deep

The Remains of the Day

*Kazuo Ishiguro's new novel Klara and the Sun is now available to preorder* From the Nobel Prize-winning author of Never Let Me Go Winner of the Booker Prize ONE OF THE BBC'S '100 NOVELS THAT SHAPED OUR WORLD' A contemporary classic, The Remains of the Day is Kazuo Ishiguro's beautiful and haunting evocation of life between the wars in a Great English House. In the summer of 1956, Stevens, the ageing butler of Darlington Hall, embarks on a leisurely holiday that will take him deep into the English countryside and into his past.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Bhargav Acharya
Bhargav Acharya@bhargav
4 stars
Jan 25, 2024
Photo of Nate
Nate@emiliana
4 stars
Jan 16, 2024
Photo of Syasya Diyana
Syasya Diyana @cicocess
4 stars
Jan 15, 2024
Photo of Amelia Lang
Amelia Lang @amylang
5 stars
Jan 7, 2024
Photo of Laura Mauler
Laura Mauler@blueskygreenstrees
5 stars
Dec 25, 2023
Photo of Satyajeet Pal
Satyajeet Pal@readerpal
5 stars
Dec 19, 2023
Photo of Will Vunderink
Will Vunderink@willvunderink
4 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of James Feinberg
James Feinberg@jamesfeinberg
Photo of Lara Engle
Lara Engle@bzzlarabzz
5 stars
Aug 23, 2023
Photo of Nicholas Laurie
Nicholas Laurie@nicklaurie
4.5 stars
Aug 6, 2023
Simple
Intelligent
Contemplative
Photo of altlovesbooks
altlovesbooks@altlovesbooks
5 stars
Jul 5, 2023
Photo of Jamshid
Jamshid@gladuz
4 stars
Jun 29, 2023
Photo of Bi
Bi@mytileneve
3 stars
Jun 28, 2023
Photo of heleen de boever
heleen de boever@hlndb
4 stars
Apr 14, 2023
Photo of Hernando
Hernando@heagma
5 stars
Mar 22, 2023
Photo of Vilandra
Vilandra@vilandra
4 stars
Mar 17, 2023
Photo of Fatin Allen
Fatin Allen@fatinallen
4 stars
Mar 2, 2023
Timeless
Delightful
Meaningful
Photo of Ioana Kardos
Ioana Kardos@ioanakardos
5 stars
Feb 11, 2023
Photo of Prashanth Srivatsa
Prashanth Srivatsa@prashanthsrivatsa
3 stars
Feb 2, 2023
Photo of Elizabeth Park
Elizabeth Park@mspark
5 stars
Jan 19, 2023
Touching
Compelling
Photo of nora
nora@noraa
3 stars
Jan 17, 2023
Long winded
Pretentious
Contemplative
Photo of Fran Lewis
Fran Lewis@franlewis
2 stars
Dec 23, 2022
Photo of Alex Ker
Alex Ker@alexker
5 stars
Dec 19, 2022
Photo of Aleksandra
Aleksandra@ola_b
4 stars
Oct 31, 2022

Highlights

Photo of Aske Dørge
Aske Dørge@aske
Photo of Aske Dørge
Aske Dørge@aske
Photo of Aske Dørge
Aske Dørge@aske