User Friendly
Compelling
Insightful
Profound

User Friendly How the Hidden Rules of Design are Changing the Way We Live, Work & Play

AMAZON BEST BOOKS OF 2019 PICK FORTUNE WRITERS AND EDITORS' RECOMMENDED BOOKS OF 2019 PICK 'A tour de force, an engrossing fusion of scholarly research, professional experience and revelations from intrepid firsthand reporting' -- New York Times USER FRIENDLY is a must-read for anyone who loves well-designed products-and for the innovators aspiring to make them. It seems like magic when some new gadget seems to know what we want before we know ourselves. But why does some design feel intrinsically good, and why do some designs last forever, while others disappear? User Friendly guides readers through the hidden rules governing how design shapes our behaviour, told through fascinating stories such as what the nuclear accident at Three Mile Island reveals about the logic of the smartphone; how the pressures of the Great Depression and World War II created our faith in social progress through better product design; and how a failed vision for Disney World yielded a new paradigm for designed experience.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of PG Gonni
PG Gonni@sekei
3.5 stars
Dec 30, 2023
Complex
Intelligent
Pretentious
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
4.5 stars
Apr 1, 2023
Conceptual
Insightful
Photo of Ali Angco
Ali Angco@aliangco
4 stars
Mar 26, 2023
Photo of Suat Karakusoglu
Suat Karakusoglu@suat
4.5 stars
Mar 12, 2023
Intense
Profound
Photo of Fatih Arslan
Fatih Arslan@fatiharslan
4 stars
Jan 22, 2023
Photo of Dave Perkins
Dave Perkins@tallyhoooooo
5 stars
Aug 16, 2022
Photo of Nicat Manafov
Nicat Manafov@nijatmanafov
3 stars
Oct 30, 2021
Long winded
Photo of Raf
Raf@raffaele
5 stars
Oct 15, 2021
Compelling
Surprising
Extraordinary
Photo of Caleb Yarian
Caleb Yarian@caleb
5 stars
Oct 2, 2021
Photo of Lisa Charlotte Rost
Lisa Charlotte Rost@lisa
3 stars
Aug 12, 2021
Photo of Bhanu Pratap
Bhanu Pratap@bhanupratap
5 stars
Oct 23, 2023
Remarkable
Photo of Jesse Bennett-Chamberlain
Jesse Bennett-Chamberlain@jessebc
5 stars
Aug 12, 2023
Easy read
Photo of Joylyn yang
Joylyn yang@joylyn
4 stars
Feb 23, 2023
Photo of Ericson Luciano
Ericson Luciano@ericsonluciano
5 stars
Jan 31, 2023
Photo of Miriam Isaac
Miriam Isaac@miriamisaac
4 stars
Aug 14, 2022
Photo of Aris Acoba
Aris Acoba@aris_acoba
3.5 stars
Apr 1, 2022
Photo of Irem topcuoglu
Irem topcuoglu@irem
3.5 stars
Mar 22, 2022
Photo of Udit Desai
Udit Desai@uydesai
3.5 stars
Mar 2, 2022
Photo of Sara Stevanovič
Sara Stevanovič@sarastevanovic
4 stars
Feb 17, 2022
Eloquent
Compelling
Insightful
Meaningful
Photo of Michael Ernst
Michael Ernst@beingernst
4 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of John
John@doubledouble
4 stars
Dec 10, 2023
Photo of Jake Dragash
Jake Dragash@jakedragash
5 stars
Aug 12, 2023
Photo of Taya Reznichenko
Taya Reznichenko@phillimore
5 stars
Aug 6, 2023
Photo of Erik Wallace
Erik Wallace@erikwallace
5 stars
Jul 26, 2023

Highlights

Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 311
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 269
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 262
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 257
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 228
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 227
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 196
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 163
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 122
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 96
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 68
Photo of Karolina
Karolina@fox
Page 42
Photo of Stan Govorukhin
Stan Govorukhin@govorukhin