Elon Musk
Fascinating
Educational
Fast paced

Elon Musk

From the author of Steve Jobs and other bestselling biographies, this is the astonishingly intimate story of the most fascinating and controversial innovator of our era—a rule-breaking visionary who helped to lead the world into the era of electric vehicles, private space exploration, and artificial intelligence. Oh, and took over Twitter. When Elon Musk was a kid in South Africa, he was regularly beaten by bullies. One day a group pushed him down some concrete steps and kicked him until his face was a swollen ball of flesh. He was in the hospital for a week. But the physical scars were minor compared to the emotional ones inflicted by his father, an engineer, rogue, and charismatic fantasist. His father’s impact on his psyche would linger. He developed into a tough yet vulnerable man-child, prone to abrupt Jekyll-and-Hyde mood swings, with an exceedingly high tolerance for risk, a craving for drama, an epic sense of mission, and a maniacal intensity that was callous and at times destructive. At the beginning of 2022—after a year marked by SpaceX launching thirty-one rockets into orbit, Tesla selling a million cars, and him becoming the richest man on earth—Musk spoke ruefully about his compulsion to stir up dramas. “I need to shift my mindset away from being in crisis mode, which it has been for about fourteen years now, or arguably most of my life,” he said. It was a wistful comment, not a New Year’s resolution. Even as he said it, he was secretly buying up shares of Twitter, the world’s ultimate playground. Over the years, whenever he was in a dark place, his mind went back to being bullied on the playground. Now he had the chance to own the playground. For two years, Isaacson shadowed Musk, attended his meetings, walked his factories with him, and spent hours interviewing him, his family, friends, coworkers, and adversaries. The result is the revealing inside story, filled with amazing tales of triumphs and turmoil, that addresses the question: are the demons that drive Musk also what it takes to drive innovation and progress?
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
4 stars
Apr 17, 2024
Fascinating
Educational
Thought provoking
Photo of Edvinas Bartkus
Edvinas Bartkus@edvnb
2 stars
Apr 5, 2024
Photo of Liam Ellul
Liam Ellul@liamreads
4 stars
Feb 2, 2024
Photo of Xavier Falaise
Xavier Falaise@xafa
4 stars
Jan 29, 2024
Photo of Leland Foster
Leland Foster@snacks
5 stars
Jan 15, 2024
Thrilling
Surprising
Educational
Thought provoking
Photo of Pranav Mandava
Pranav Mandava@pranavtechie
5 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Insightful
Fascinating
Inspirational
Photo of Sebastian Stoelen
Sebastian Stoelen@sebastianstoelen
5 stars
Dec 1, 2023
Ambitious
Awe-inspiring
Extraordinary
Photo of Kelly Kim
Kelly Kim@kellykim
3.5 stars
Nov 27, 2023
Photo of Dana M
Dana M@dana-mv
5 stars
Nov 21, 2023
Photo of Stefan Faulhaber
Stefan Faulhaber@stefanreads
5 stars
Nov 20, 2023
Intense
Photo of Maxence
Maxence@maxencep
5 stars
Oct 17, 2023
Photo of Vio
Vio@vio
3 stars
Oct 15, 2023
Photo of Christopher Wheeler
Christopher Wheeler@woolgatherist
4.5 stars
Oct 12, 2023
Photo of Daniel Toke Hansen
Daniel Toke Hansen@danieltoke
5 stars
Oct 11, 2023
Exciting
Beautiful
Fast paced
Insightful
Fascinating
Educational
Unpredictable
Photo of Luis Cascante
Luis Cascante@luiscascante
4 stars
Oct 8, 2023
Photo of Cristian Garcia
Cristian Garcia@cristian
4.5 stars
Oct 5, 2023
Fast paced
Fascinating
Photo of Vatsal Sanjay
Vatsal Sanjay@vatsalsanjay
4 stars
May 11, 2024
Photo of Bailey Jennings
Bailey Jennings@baileyjennings
5 stars
Apr 30, 2024
Photo of Jannis M
Jannis M@jmm
5 stars
Apr 22, 2024
Photo of Rob
Rob@robcesq
5 stars
Dec 28, 2023
Photo of Furculita Alexandru
Furculita Alexandru@furculita
5 stars
Dec 20, 2023
Photo of Ryan Lavin
Ryan Lavin@rlavin
3 stars
Dec 19, 2023
Photo of Tyler Gibbs
Tyler Gibbs@tylerswe
5 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of Nenad Nikolic
Nenad Nikolic@nnikolic72
5 stars
Dec 12, 2023

Highlights

Photo of Fred Rivett
Fred Rivett@fredrivett
Page 218
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 486
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 386
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 365
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 363
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 354
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 221
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 200
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 177
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 157
Photo of Tem Nugmanov
Tem Nugmanov@temirlan
Page 150
Photo of testingthis
testingthis@testingthis
This highlight contains a spoiler
Photo of Fred Rivett
Fred Rivett@fredrivett
Page 150
Photo of Vijayasarathy Muthu
Vijayasarathy Muthu@vijayasarathy
Page 114
Photo of Vijayasarathy Muthu
Vijayasarathy Muthu@vijayasarathy
Page 113