Leonardo da Vinci

Leonardo da Vinci

The #1 New York Times bestseller from Walter Isaacson brings Leonardo da Vinci to life in this exciting new biography that is “a study in creativity: how to define it, how to achieve it…Most important, it is a powerful story of an exhilarating mind and life” (The New Yorker). Based on thousands of pages from Leonardo da Vinci’s astonishing notebooks and new discoveries about his life and work, Walter Isaacson “deftly reveals an intimate Leonardo” (San Francisco Chronicle) in a narrative that connects his art to his science. He shows how Leonardo’s genius was based on skills we can improve in ourselves, such as passionate curiosity, careful observation, and an imagination so playful that it flirted with fantasy. He produced the two most famous paintings in history, The Last Supper and the Mona Lisa. With a passion that sometimes became obsessive, he pursued innovative studies of anatomy, fossils, birds, the heart, flying machines, botany, geology, and weaponry. He explored the math of optics, showed how light rays strike the cornea, and produced illusions of changing perspectives in The Last Supper. His ability to stand at the crossroads of the humanities and the sciences, made iconic by his drawing of Vitruvian Man, made him history’s most creative genius. In the “luminous” (Daily Beast) Leonardo da Vinci, Isaacson describes how Leonardo’s delight at combining diverse passions remains the ultimate recipe for creativity. So, too, does his ease at being a bit of a misfit: illegitimate, gay, vegetarian, left-handed, easily distracted, and at times heretical. His life should remind us of the importance to be imaginative and, like talented rebels in any era, to think different. Here, da Vinci “comes to life in all his remarkable brilliance and oddity in Walter Isaacson’s ambitious new biography…a vigorous, insightful portrait” (The Washington Post).
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Jb
Jb@jbr1992
4 stars
Mar 1, 2024
Photo of Bi
Bi@mytileneve
5 stars
Jun 28, 2023
Photo of Jamieson
Jamieson@jamiesonk
4 stars
Jan 23, 2023
Photo of TK
TK@iamtk
4 stars
Dec 17, 2022
Photo of Nelson Zagalo
Nelson Zagalo@nzagalo
4 stars
Sep 3, 2022
Photo of Jon Dubielzyk
Jon Dubielzyk@dubielzyk
5 stars
Aug 15, 2022
Photo of Margaret Sh.
Margaret Sh.@wasurenagusa
4 stars
Feb 3, 2022
Photo of Omar Fernandez
Omar Fernandez@omareduardo
5 stars
Dec 10, 2021
Photo of Tomasz
Tomasz@tomitoja
5 stars
Nov 1, 2021
Photo of Lucas Coelho
Lucas Coelho@coelholucas
5 stars
Sep 20, 2021
Photo of Ilia Markov
Ilia Markov@ilia
4 stars
Aug 1, 2021
Photo of Lasse
Lasse@lassereadsbooks
4.5 stars
Aug 8, 2022
Photo of Vijayasarathy Muthu
Vijayasarathy Muthu@vijayasarathy
3.5 stars
Jun 5, 2022
Photo of Sinem
Sinem@sinem
5 stars
Apr 7, 2022
Photo of Vivian Lin
Vivian Lin@vivianlin
4 stars
May 22, 2024
Photo of Vatsal Sanjay
Vatsal Sanjay@vatsalsanjay
5 stars
May 11, 2024
Photo of Michael Knepprath
Michael Knepprath@mknepprath
5 stars
Apr 4, 2024
Photo of Pierre
Pierre@pst
3 stars
Apr 4, 2024
Photo of Jens Obel
Jens Obel@jensobel
4 stars
Apr 4, 2024
Photo of Owen
Owen@oweng
4 stars
Dec 23, 2023
Photo of Jayme Cochrane
Jayme Cochrane@jamesco
4 stars
Dec 20, 2023
Photo of Heiki Riesenkampf
Heiki Riesenkampf@hrk
3 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of Nenad Nikolic
Nenad Nikolic@nnikolic72
5 stars
Dec 12, 2023
Photo of Eddie
Eddie@eddie
4 stars
Sep 5, 2023