Zero to One
Easy read
Educational
Thought provoking

Zero to One Notes on Startups, Or how to Build the Future

Peter Thiel2014
"EVERY MOMENT IN BUSINESS HAPPENS ONLY ONCE. The next Bill Gates will not build an operating system. The next Larry Page or Sergey Brin won't make a search engine. And the next Mark Zuckerberg won't create a social network. If you are copying these guys, you aren't learning from them. It's easier to copy a model than to make something new: doing what we already know how to do takes the world from 1 to n, adding more of something familiar. But every time we create something new, we go from 0 to 1. The act of creation is singular, as is the moment of creation, and the result is something fresh and strange. Zero to One is about how to build companies that create new things. It draws on everything I've learned directly as a co-founder of PayPal and Palantir and then an investor in hundreds of startups, including Facebook and SpaceX. The single most powerful pattern I have noticed is that successful people find value in unexpected places, and they do this by thinking about business from first principles instead of formulas. Ask not, what would Mark do? Ask: WHAT VALUABLE COMPANY IS NOBODY BUILDING? "--
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of matej yangwao
matej yangwao@yangwao
4 stars
Aug 22, 2023
Photo of Rohit Arondekar
Rohit Arondekar@rohitarondekar
3 stars
Jul 23, 2023
Photo of Gavin
Gavin@gl
3 stars
Mar 9, 2023
Photo of Keven Wang
Keven Wang@kevenwang
5 stars
Feb 4, 2023
Photo of Madhuri jain
Madhuri jain@madhuri_jain
4 stars
Feb 1, 2023
Photo of Obada Mu
Obada Mu@obada
5 stars
Jan 18, 2023
Photo of Nick Gracilla
Nick Gracilla@ngracilla
4 stars
Jan 16, 2023
Photo of Arturo Hernández
Arturo Hernández@artthh
3 stars
Jan 3, 2023
Photo of Sierra Nguyen
Sierra Nguyen@sierra-reads
4 stars
Dec 14, 2022
Photo of Neil Murray
Neil Murray@neilswmurray
5 stars
Oct 6, 2022
Photo of Ahmed Salem
Ahmed Salem@salem309
5 stars
Sep 6, 2022
Photo of Todd Luallen
Todd Luallen@tluallen
5 stars
Aug 29, 2022
Photo of alali moe
alali moe@xmoe
5 stars
Aug 13, 2022
Photo of brendan sudol
brendan sudol@bren
5 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Ethan Ding
Ethan Ding@ethanding
3 stars
Aug 1, 2022
Photo of Ugis
Ugis@vilcans
3 stars
Jul 31, 2022
Photo of jack morris
jack morris@jxm
4 stars
Jul 9, 2022
Photo of Chris Raastad
Chris Raastad@craastad
4 stars
Apr 20, 2022
Photo of Vedat Güven
Vedat Güven@veduto
5 stars
Feb 27, 2022
Photo of Donald
Donald@riversofeurope
4 stars
Feb 25, 2022
Photo of Andrew Kerr
Andrew Kerr@andrewkerr
5 stars
Feb 8, 2022
Photo of Mumluk
Mumluk@mumluk
4 stars
Jan 31, 2022
Photo of Vedant Jain
Vedant Jain@vedant
3 stars
Jan 14, 2022
Photo of Pranav Mutatkar
Pranav Mutatkar@pranavmutatkar
4 stars
Dec 30, 2021

Highlights

Photo of Nkwachi Nwamaghinna
Nkwachi Nwamaghinna@nkwachi