The Design of Everyday Things
Insightful

The Design of Everyday Things Revised and Expanded Edition

Don Norman2013
Design doesn't have to complicated, which is why this guide to human-centered design shows that usability is just as important as aesthetics. Even the smartest among us can feel inept as we fail to figure out which light switch or oven burner to turn on, or whether to push, pull, or slide a door. The fault, argues this ingenious -- even liberating -- book, lies not in ourselves, but in product design that ignores the needs of users and the principles of cognitive psychology. The problems range from ambiguous and hidden controls to arbitrary relationships between controls and functions, coupled with a lack of feedback or other assistance and unreasonable demands on memorization. The Design of Everyday Things shows that good, usable design is possible. The rules are simple: make things visible, exploit natural relationships that couple function and control, and make intelligent use of constraints. The goal: guide the user effortlessly to the right action on the right control at the right time. The Design of Everyday Things is a powerful primer on how -- and why -- some products satisfy customers while others only frustrate them.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of S
S@benhur
5 stars
Jan 2, 2023
Photo of Ben Jenkins
Ben Jenkins@benjenkins
3 stars
Jan 2, 2023
Photo of Roberta Falco
Roberta Falco@robertafalco
5 stars
Dec 29, 2022
Photo of Nelson Zagalo
Nelson Zagalo@nzagalo
5 stars
Sep 3, 2022
Photo of Adam
Adam@adam
2 stars
Aug 18, 2022
Photo of Dave Perkins
Dave Perkins@tallyhoooooo
4 stars
Aug 16, 2022
Photo of Irene Alegre
Irene Alegre@irenealegre
3 stars
Aug 15, 2022
Photo of Angel Martinez
Angel Martinez@angxlmartinez
4 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Karl Fernandes
Karl Fernandes@karlfernandes
5 stars
May 4, 2022
Photo of Lissa Aguilar
Lissa Aguilar@l4st4ct
5 stars
Feb 20, 2022
Photo of Barry Hess
Barry Hess@bjhess
3 stars
Jan 17, 2022
Photo of Bryan Maniotakis
Bryan Maniotakis@bryanmanio
5 stars
Jan 13, 2022
Photo of Maria
Maria@mersibaq
2 stars
Jan 7, 2022
Photo of Clara Jo
Clara Jo@clarajohenry
4 stars
Jan 5, 2022
Photo of Maggie Delano
Maggie Delano@maggiedelano
4 stars
Jan 2, 2022
Photo of Luke Kanies
Luke Kanies@lak
5 stars
Dec 4, 2021
Photo of Magdalene Lim
Magdalene Lim@magdalene
3 stars
Nov 13, 2021
Photo of Roberta Falco
Roberta Falco@robertafalco
5 stars
Oct 28, 2021
Photo of Catherine Renee Dimalla
Catherine Renee Dimalla@crdimalla
3 stars
Sep 15, 2021
Photo of Adam
Adam@adam
2 stars
Aug 17, 2021
Photo of Bryan Alexander
Bryan Alexander@bryanalexander
5 stars
Jul 29, 2021
Photo of Muhannad Helvaci
Muhannad Helvaci@Muhannad
5 stars
Jul 27, 2021
Photo of Benjamin Lorenz
Benjamin Lorenz@bennyurban
4.5 stars
Nov 27, 2022
Photo of Rui Parada
Rui Parada@ruiparada
5 stars
Aug 13, 2022