Hooked
Intelligent
Visionary
Unpredictable

Hooked How to Build Habit-Forming Products

Nir Eyal2014
Revised and Updated, Featuring a New Case Study How do successful companies create products people can’t put down? Why do some products capture widespread attention while others flop? What makes us engage with certain products out of sheer habit? Is there a pattern underlying how technologies hook us? Nir Eyal answers these questions (and many more) by explaining the Hook Model—a four-step process embedded into the products of many successful companies to subtly encourage customer behavior. Through consecutive “hook cycles,” these products reach their ultimate goal of bringing users back again and again without depending on costly advertising or aggressive messaging. Hooked is based on Eyal’s years of research, consulting, and practical experience. He wrote the book he wished had been available to him as a start-up founder—not abstract theory, but a how-to guide for building better products. Hooked is written for product managers, designers, marketers, start-up founders, and anyone who seeks to understand how products influence our behavior. Eyal provides readers with: • Practical insights to create user habits that stick. • Actionable steps for building products people love. • Fascinating examples from the iPhone to Twitter, Pinterest to the Bible App, and many other habit-forming products.
Sign up to use

Reviews

Photo of Shad Gibran
Shad Gibran@shad
4 stars
Mar 25, 2023
Visionary
Educational
Photo of Ilia Markov
Ilia Markov@ilia
4 stars
Aug 1, 2021
Photo of Imran
Imran@imranashraf
4 stars
Mar 18, 2023
Photo of Lorenz Herrmann
Lorenz Herrmann@lorenzherrmann
4.5 stars
Dec 23, 2022
Photo of Manuel Steinberg
Manuel Steinberg@manuelsteinberg
4.5 stars
May 9, 2022
Photo of Timon Reinhard
Timon Reinhard@timonreinhard
3.5 stars
May 3, 2022
Photo of Martijn Runia
Martijn Runia@martijnrunia
2.5 stars
Jan 3, 2022
Intelligent
Photo of Kevin Asgari
Kevin Asgari@kevasgari
5 stars
Aug 18, 2021
Honest
Original
Feel good
Compelling
Intelligent
Unpredictable
Photo of Johannes Dornisch
Johannes Dornisch@dorsch500
5 stars
Aug 14, 2021
Photo of Fernando Gouveia
Fernando Gouveia@fernxyz
4 stars
Dec 18, 2023
Photo of Ilja Panic
Ilja Panic@iljapanic
3 stars
May 12, 2023
Photo of Mac Navarro
Mac Navarro@1xmac
3 stars
Mar 1, 2023
Photo of Prayash Mohapatra
Prayash Mohapatra@prayash
4 stars
Jan 24, 2023
Photo of Oz Lubling
Oz Lubling@ozlubling
3 stars
Jan 20, 2023
Photo of Félix
Félix@felyxorez
4 stars
Jan 9, 2023
Photo of Darma Paramarta
Darma Paramarta@darma
4 stars
Jan 3, 2023
Photo of Dylan Garrett
Dylan Garrett@dygar
3 stars
Dec 22, 2022
Photo of Matt Niblock
Matt Niblock@mattniblock
4 stars
Dec 19, 2022
Photo of Pavan Kumar
Pavan Kumar@pavanp
4 stars
Sep 8, 2022
Photo of Piotr Kulpinski
Piotr Kulpinski@piotrkulpinski
3 stars
Aug 29, 2022
Photo of Ilja Panic
Ilja Panic@iljapanic
3 stars
Aug 23, 2022
Photo of Dan Knisley
Dan Knisley@dknisley10
4 stars
Aug 18, 2022
Photo of Chinmay Naik
Chinmay Naik@chinmay
4 stars
Aug 12, 2022
Photo of Shikhar Jaiswal
Shikhar Jaiswal@shikhar
3 stars
Aug 12, 2022

Highlights

Photo of Altay
Altay@altay